What is freedom?

What is freedom? When do you feel most free in your job? In your day? Least free? When is it better to not be free?

I can’t imagine what it means to be free. I don’t feel like I’m ever free from the responsibilities and constraints of life.

The only time I can think of when I’m released from “life” is when I’m lying back completely immersed in the bath. I can’t hear the outside world. I can only hear my breathing and the sound of my heart beating. Floating free! It’s even better if it’s almost dark. Removing as much outside sensation as possible — that’s freedom.

Maybe I should buy a sensory deprivation tank?

2 thoughts on “What is freedom?

  1. This is a great topic to explore. Maybe we have to find our own freedom, make it in a quiet place, like you did. How can we be free when we can’t hear ourselve’s think, when we are holding our breath and don’t even know it. I love your tag line, BTW, that’s how I feel quite often, only I try and hide it because, well, it’s hard to have people think you’re insane, it’s hard to keep believing in your own perceptions when they aren’t necessarily popular or shared.

    I think that tank sounds pretty good, I’m thinking a hot tub beneath the cold night sky work well too. The stars, while mysterious, never cause me to doubt the light inside me.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad my little post resonated with someone. I like the way you put it…find our own freedom…in a quiet place…that’s exactly what I was trying to convey.

Leave a Reply

