We live life forwards, but examine backwards

We live life forwards, but examine it backwards. This is something the philosopher Kikergard pointed out long ago. It seems we’re likely to make many mistakes in basing our future, which is forward thinking, entirely on the past, which is looking backwards.

I disagree. We learn from our history, from our mistakes, from out triumphs, from everything we do. We benefit from looking back. The problem is we don’t know when to look back. What I mean by this is that we often look back when it’s too late…when the moment we could have acted up on that which we know has past and our fate sealed.

Today my fate is to be single again. Did I see it coming? Yes. Could I have prevented the pain and hurt by looking to my own past? Probably. I am a better person when there is just me. I knew that before but I had hope that this was someone worth fighting for. I will endeavor to learn from this time and apply it if similar circumstances arise again.

That is why history teaches us…to learn…to keep on learning…to never stop learning.

Leave a Reply

